Loncin Fort, a unique site, witness of the Great War in Liège
Rue des Héros 15
4431 LONCIN (ANS)
- MAPS: Google Maps
Loncin Fort is considered to be the symbol of the Battle of Liège and Belgium's heroism against the German attack in 1914.
Located a handful of kilometres from the centre of Liège, Loncin Fort remains an exceptional remembrance site, as it has been preserved in the same state after its destruction during the First World War.
After 11 days of resistance against the German invader, the Fort exploded on 15 August 1914 following a hit from the "Big Bertha" canon.
A 42 cm shell weighing 800 kg destroyed the fort, thus burying 350 people under it. Only 150 brave souls escaped alive.
Relive the fort's explosion and the soldiers' daily lives
A visit of the fort presents numerous pieces bearing witness to the daily lives of the young soldiers stationed there.
Aside from visiting the quarters, showers, cells, officers' mess, General Leman's quarters, visitors find themselves plunged into the events of August 1914, at the heart of the bombings.
They discover the workings of the fort's turrets thanks to plasma screens, relive the explosion through a realistic re-enactment and are invited to pay their respects at the memorial to the soldiers who lost their lives in this historic location.
The Loncin Fort Museum
The fort also has a museum that brings together a beautiful collection of rare, curious and stunning objects, such as period weapons, uniforms and personal effects found on the site.
From April to October, guided tours available at 2pm.
Open all year long, but you must book your visit one week in advance. By telephone on +32 (0)4/246 44 25 or on +32 (0)498/38 76 93. By email.
Visit the fort and the museum: Adults - €5, children aged 6 to 12 - €3.
Visit just the museum: €2.
Minimum 8 people.
Adults - €4.
Schools - €2.
Guided tours in French, English, Dutch and German.
Tourist information on the town ANS
Visit our partners' webpages
- Mulum Museum - The Liege Light Museum
- Modave Castle
- Ansembourg Museum (Museum of Archaeology and the Decorative Arts)
- New in Liège: Opening of La Boverie on 5 May 2016
- Baugnez 44 Historical Center - Battle of the Bulge Museum